Fourth Chakra

Anahata- 4th Chakra

  Mantra "I Love"

Mantra "I Love"

  • Anahata means "unstruck"
  • Element: Air
  • Location: Heart center
  • Inner State: Love and Compassion 
  • Color: Green
  • Blocked by Guilt
  • Effects: Unconditional Love for Self and Others, Compassion, Emotional Balance, Ability to give and receive love, acceptance of self and others
  • Planet: Venus

Opening Anahata 


In yoga, you want to focus on backbends of any variation. It opens the heart and chest up. We tend to live our lives hunched over the computer, this is also great to help reverse the process of a rounded back. But when we are guarded in our hearts we tend to roll forward and be guarded. A nice big open backbend can start to free the bonds and break the walls. 

In backbends though, be careful on not crunching up the lower back as well. You want to focus on extending the front of the body as well as the back. In energy/spiritual terms, your front body could be really open but your back body could still be shut off and guarded. I know from experience that is how I used to be. I was still very guarded in my back and backbends did not come easily to me. It's only recently that they have become more accessible, freeing and comfortable. 


I suggest going outside and meditating and breathing the fresh air. Wear green or even light a green candle if it is cold outside. A hand posture you can use is pictured on the left. Focus your energy loving yourself first and then others. Once you find love within yourself you can will open your heart to others. Accepting yourself as you accept others. The mantra to repeat to yourself is " I am loved; I let love in. I am kind to myself. I live in peace and gratitude."



Samantha RodgersComment